Region 6


Region 6 Leadership Breakfast

The Leadership Breakfast made it to the local news! Check out this article and video from WNYT13!

Each year, the SAANYS Region 6 Board holds its annual Leadership Breakfast in order to recognize leadership in all of its forms in our schools. 2024 date TBD.

This year’s winners:

Excelsior Award Winners:

Gwynne Cosh -Principal of William H. Barton Intermediate School Queensbury Union Free School District

Joby Gifford -Principal of Jefferson Elementary School Schalmont Central School District

Rich Johns – Retired Saratoga Springs City School District Teacher/Act with Respect Always

Jennie Pennington Award Winner:

Suzanne Rayome -Burnt Hills Ballston Lake Central School District K-12 Supervisor of Library Media

Friend of Education Award Winners

Mark Mullholland – News Channel 13 WNYT

Subrina Dhammi -News Channel 13 WNYT

Region 6 Student Scholarship Recipients

Zoe Geiger, Ichabod Crane High School

Olivia Gibeault, Ichabod Crane High School

Michael Gutchell, Shenendehowa High School

Sara Hotailing, Ravena Coeymans Selkirk High School

Ella Irons, South Colonie High School

Amanda Jurgelon, Mohonasen High School

ShawnJohn Kannermore, Mohonasen High School

Sean Kilmartin, Shenendehowa High School

David Mooradian, Averill Park High School

Dina Santabarbara, Schalmont High School

Carissa Shanahan, Cohoes High School

Emma Winslow, Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake High School


Region 6 Support a Scholar Charity Golf Tournament

2024 date TBD. Each year, SAANYS Region 6 awards scholarships to college bound seniors who attend schools in our region. This golf event enables our committee to expand our scholarship offerings. We urge educators to join us each July for an exciting day of golf, good food, and fun at The Fairways of Halfmoon.

Regional Structure

Under the leadership of the regional chairperson, elected committee members provide collegial support for administrators and administrative units in the region. Your regional representatives are your local contact for state-level representation and coordination of services.

Region 6  Contacts

Serving members in Albany, Columbia, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren, and Washington counties.

Name: Jessica Rosetti
Title: Regional Chair
Phone: (518) 824-1600

Name: Megan Collins
Title: Vice Chair
Phone: 518) 530-7475

Name: Jim Conway
Title: Past Chair
Phone: (518) 955-0264

Name: Karen Urbanski
Title: Treasurer, Retiree Advisory Board
Phone: (518) 339-4377

Name: Mike Riggi
Title: Secretary

Name: Tom Sands
Title: Regional Representative
Phone: (518) 587-6777

Name: Jennifer Drautz
Title: Board Member
Phone: (518) 765-3314 ext. 421

Name: Linda Klime
Title: Board Member
Phone: (518) 233-6850

Name: Chris Sanita
Title: Government Relations Committee
Phone: (518) 357-2770

Name: Tammy Silvernell
Title: Government Relations Committee
Phone: (518) 744-2411

Committee Members: Gene Gordon, Alicia Goodman, Jason Thompson, Bryan Wood, Craig Chandler, Robin Gawrys